Recipe: Dressed up Carrots

Because who doesn’t love carrots when they are all fancied up and ready to go out?

This section of my blog was looking sad and empty so I thought I would start with a recipe I made once that was honestly so good! I am by NO means a baker or chef (I basically make “stir-frys” every night a.k.a. throw everything into a pan and call it a day) but occasionally I will try something from a real recipe and this time it turned out great!

I won’t be posting a photo or anything because lets be honest I am not that technically savvy but I wanted to share this super easy super tasty side dish I discovered! Plus it is pretty darn cheap to make as carrots are not like cauliflowers which can run you $5 each and bulk barn is the best for spices.

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs carrots (chopped into little sticks)
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. each cinnamon, garlic powder, black pepper
  • 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper (omit this if you don’t like the extra heat)
  • Some olive oil to coat

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 400. Coat carrots in oil and then all of your spices.

Put on your sheet in a single layer so they are all bakin evenly. Bake for 30-40 minutes (toss halfway through).

That’s it! You can experiment with amount of each spice depending on your preference but honestly these were just so tasty! I think I added extra cumin and cinnamon as I love both of those.

I’d love to hear if anyone tries them and what they think!

Edit: It is now after supper on the 26th (I wrote this in the morning) and I just made these! I should not have added any cayenne pepper because it is too hot for me (once I was eating them I remembered I did the same thing last time…)

I also dipped them in sour cream and it was SO GOOD. Try it. You’ll like it. Might sound random but it is delicious. And it cuts the heat.

Leave a Reply

