Toasty Nuts – (aka roasted almonds)

Who doesn’t like their nuts good and toasty?! No? Well I know I do!

I have recently discovered a love for nuts – the ones you eat c’mon. I always thought I hated them but acknowledged my love for all nut butters but recently I have been trying to increase my healthy fats and what better way than nuts! (along with avocado, coconut oil, olive oil, cookies, chips..wait I said healthy right?)

So almonds and cashews are my current addictions. I still eat approximately a full jar of PB each week so I am not too keen on starting to eat peanuts as well. I mean I need some variety in my nuts right?

I would venture even further into the nut world but to be honest they are not cheap!

So almonds and cashews it is! The cashews I really just love how they come lightly salted but for almonds, I decided I wanted to try to roast my own and after a few batches of less than deliciousness I think I have mastered it so I thought I would share!

I purchased a massive bulk bag of plain raw almonds and started my research.

First of all, I read a whole bunch of articles that talk about the benefits of soaking almonds, including making them easier to digest which I thought would be good for me as I have a whole ton of gut issues. So I soaked them for 8ish hours but realized that I just don’t care for how they turn out. You are left with soft almonds with no real zest for life. This did not appeal.

A colleague told me about roasting them so I thought I would try that. I found a bunch of recipes that call for different oils and seasonings but my colleague told me that she uses EGG WHITES to make them sticky and I just loved this idea.

So I took my soaked almonds and coated them with a little egg white and then cinnamon, salt and a pinch of cayenne. I baked them for 10ish minutes at 350 degrees and then shook them up and baked for another 10ish minutes.

The results was a decent flavour but they did not get crunchy. The pre-soak made them retain too much water. I did a couple batches this way with different flavour combos and then realized I need to stop soaking them because I am just not loving the texture.

I changed up my nutty ways and have discovered the perfect way to roast your almonds!

Ingredients:

  • Plain whole almonds (I used approx. 3 cups for this batch)
  • Egg whites (use from a real egg or from a carton – I used roughly 1 white)
  • Cinnamon
  • Salt
  • Pinch of cayenne
  • Parchment paper (this is a must – zero mess!)
  • Note: I am going to add nutmeg next time too
  • Note x2: I also made a batch with smoky paprika and it was awesome but I love the sweet/salty/spicy more

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Put your almonds in a container.
  3. Throw your spices on top.
  4. Lightly drizzle some egg white.
  5. Put the lid on the container and shake shake shake!
  6. Dump your almonds on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and spread out to roughly one even layer.
  7. Bake for 10 minutes, break/shake them up, bake for another 10ish minutes.
  8. Let cool and DEVOUR

Note: If you have added too much egg white you will want to strain the almonds before putting them on the baking sheet or they will all stick together and have more of a coating.

Note x2: If you have extra egg whites you should throw them in a pan and make a mini egg white scramble/omelette! No reason to waste food right 😉 

And there you have it! Super simple and SUPER delicious crunchy nuts!

And the great thing is that there is no precise measurements. You can use as many almonds as you want and whatever seasoning/spices you desire. I recommend doing a smaller batch to begin with unless you are sure you will love the flavouring. 

If you do like softer nuts or your teeth cannot take the hardness then definitely try the soaking method. It makes them very soft to chew.

Now you can be as nutty as me!

Screen Shot 2017-04-04 at 7.21.21 PM.png

Leave a Reply

